## THE NEWBERY MEDAL

The Newbery Medal is named in honor of John Newbery (1713-1767), a British publisher and bookseller in the 1700s. Newbery is known as the father of children's literature because he was the first to propose publishing books specifically for children. The award is presented each year by the American Library Association to the "author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children" published during the preceding year. The award was first given in 1922 and is awarded annually. The winning book receives the Newbery Medal and one or more runners-up are also recognized as honor books.

YEAR	TITLE	AUTHOR	
1997	The View From Saturday	Elaine L. Konigsburg	
1996	The Midwife's Apprentice	Karen Cushman	
1995	Walk Two Moons	Sharon Creech	
1994	The Giver	Lois Lowry	
1993	Missing May	Cynthia Rylant	
1992	Shiloh	Phyllis Reynolds Naylor	
1991	Maniac Magee	Jerry Spinelli	
1990	Number the Stars	Lois Lowry	
1989	Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices	Paul Fleischman	
1988	Lincoln: A Photobiography	Russell Freeman	
1987	The Whipping Boy	Sid Fleischman	
1986	Sarah, Plain and Tall	Patricia MacLachlan	
1985	The Hero and the Crown	Robin McKinley	
1984	Dear Mr. Henshaw	Beverly Cleary	
1983	Dicey's Song	Cynthia Voigt	
1982	A Visit To William Blake's Inn	Nancy Willard	
1981	Jacob Have I Loved	Katherine Ann Patterson	
1980	A Gathering of Days	Joan W. Blos	
1970	Sounder	William H. Armstrong	
1960	Onion John	Joseph Krumgold	
1950	The Door in the Wall	Marguerite di Angeli	
1940	Daniel Boone	James Daugherty	
1930	Hitty, Her First Hundred Years	Rachel Field	
1922	The Story of Mankind	Hendrik Willhem	